Chennai Super Kings defeated Gujarat Titans by five wickets in the IPL 2023 championship match at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. CSK fans were overjoyed by the amazing win of their team, as they clapped and danced throughout the stadium, including the CSK fans everywhere.

CSK won the IPL 2023 title

CSK won the IPL title for the 5th time (Jagran Josh)

The finals started with a Closing ceremony at 6.30 pm, followed by a toss at 7 pm, followed by GT batting on Monday, 29 April, at 7.30 pm completed by 10 pm. Just as CSK started bowling, it rained heavily, where their batting began on Tuesday, 30 April, from 12 pm-midnight and continued till 4 am morning with the winning celebration of CSK. On Monday night, CSK faced GT and had to chase a massive 215-run target before being stopped by rain three balls into the first over with four runs already scored.

CSK won by 5 wickets in IPL 2023

CSK captain MS Dhoni won the toss and chose to bowl first. Gujarat Titans batted first and scored 212/4 in total.

After lengthy delay, the game was resumed after another downpour at the venue when CSK started batting. After quick stand by Ruturaj Gaikwad (26) and Devon Conway (47), Ajinkya Rahane (27) and Ambati Rayudu (19) helped to lessen the load.

When Rayudu was dismissed, CSK captain MS Dhoni entered the game as the no. batter and was promptly struck out by Mohit Sharma for golden duck with 22 needed off of 14 balls.

With 10 needed off of two balls against Mohit, who was smashing back-to-back yorkers against Shivam Dube (32 not out), the chase came down to the wire. In order to win the match, Ravindra Jadeja (15 unbeaten) blasted Mohit for six over long-on and four down. CSK achieved their fifth IPL championship, leveled with Mumbai Indians for the most victories. 

Top Four Playoff Teams Fought for Tata IPL 2023 Final Spot

The Indian Premiere League 2023 season 16 has been outstanding as it entered its last week, after an amazing two months of wins, losses, and great performances by ten teams. Every team player of Tata IPL 2023 has given their level best to make their individual team rise ahead in rank. But as they say, the best four teams who won the highest number of wins could make it to playoffs. 

Top four team captains - Hardik Pandaya, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, and Kunal Pandaya for Playoffs

Top four team captains – Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, and Kunal Pandya for Playoffs (News18 Hindi)

With a majority of victories, the Gujarat Titans became the first team to earn a spot in the playoffs. Chennai Super Kings, Lucknow Super Giants, and Mumbai Indians are the other teams that were successful in reaching second, third, and fourth positions in the playoff games.

Well, all four captains – Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, and Rohit Sharma ensured that their team gives their level best to go ahead in IPL and make a place in the finale.

IPL 2023 Trophy

IPL 2023 Trophy (SportsUnfold)

Tata IPL 2023 Playoffs: Schedule and Venue

  • The 2023 IPL playoff schedule is ready, and the IPL crowd is eager to see which two teams will advance to the championship match.
  • Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings played with each other in the opening qualifier on May 23.
  • The elimination game between Mumbai Indians and Lucknow Super Giants took place on May 24.
  • The loser of Q1 faced the winner of the Eliminator match in Qualifier 2, which was played on May 26.
  • The IPL 2023 Qualifier 1 and the Eliminator were played in M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Chennai, while the remaining two games (eliminator and finals) were played in Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.
  • The IPL 2023 finals were played on May 29, 2023, as rain occurred on May 28. 

Matches | Days | Dates Time (IST) Venue
1 Gujarat Titans vs Chennai Super Kings [Qualifier 1] – Tues, 23 May

CSK won by 15 runs.

7.30 PM Chinnaswamy Stadium
2 Lucknow Superkings vs Mumbai Indians

[Eliminator] – Wed, 24 May

MI won by 81 runs.

7.30 PM Chinnaswamy Stadium
3 Loser of Q1 – Gujarat Titans vs Winner of the Eliminator – Mumbi Indians  [Qualifier 2] – Fri, 26 May

GT won by 62 runs.

7.30 PM Narendra Modi Stadium
4 Winner of Q1 – Chennai Superkings vs Winner of Q2 – Gujarat Titans [Final] – Sun, 28 May

CSK won the IPL2023 Title by 5 wickets


7.30 PM Narendra Modi Stadium
Kunal Pandya of Lucknow Giants, MS Dhoni of Chennai Superkings, Hardik Pandya of Gujarat Titans and Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians

Kunal Pandya of Lucknow Giants, MS Dhoni of Chennai Super Kings, Hardik Pandya of Gujarat Titans and Rohit Sharma of Mumbai Indians (Jagran Josh)

Also, recommended: Tata IPL 2022

The IPL 2023 playoffs and finals got telecast on Star Sports network and live streaming on Jio Cinema. May the best team among Chennai Super Kings, Gujarat Titans, Lucknow Supergiants, and Mumbai Indians win the trophy of IPL 16!

Cheers and congratulations on Chennai Super Kings winning the Tata IPL 2023 trophy in Season 16, IPL2023! Our hearts are singing in the winning achievements of Chennai Super Kings and MS Dhoni continuing with his captaincy next year., pub-3862145386704795, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0 InterServer Web Hosting and VPS

Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Author at
A proficient Web Content Developer (Technical and Non-Technical Writer), Blogger, and Freelance Content Writer. A happy author of! She is a creative person, always eager to learn new aspects, and seeking new ways for improving skills in her field. She loves traveling & photography; also, a sports enthusiast!
Follow me as @SanghamitraRch on Twitter.
Sanghamitra Roychoudhary