The selected Indian team flies over to West Indies for their upcoming test series. Host West Indies will play against India for 4-test match series from 21st July to 22nd August, 2016. The Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI] stated last Thursday that the tour to Caribbean land would be of 49-days in total.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="338"] India Vs West Indies Test Series ([/caption]

Before the start of 4 test matches, India will be playing two warm-up matches, in order to get ready to give their best against West Indies. The test series will be lead by Virat Kohli, the captain of 17-member Test Squad. Indian team has been decided by BCCI already.

Practice Match

Indian tour to WI commences with a two-day and a three-day practice match to take place from 9th July.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="364"] Test Series to begin from 21st July ([/caption]

Two-day: India v WICB President’s XI; 9-10 July, 2016.

India: 258 runs/6 wickets [93 overs]

Rohit Sharma 54 runs [109];

Jomel Warrican 2/66 [26 overs]

WICB President’s XI: 281 runs/7 wickets [87 overs]

Shai Hope 118 runs [229];

Amit Mishra 4/67 [27 overs]

Match Drawn

Three-day: WICB President’s XI v India; 14-16 July, 2016.

WICB President’s XI: 180 runs/10 wickets [62.4 overs] (Ist innings)

Rahkeem Cornwall 41 runs [56 overs]

Ravindra Jadeja 3/16 [13 overs]

India: 364 runs/10 wickets [105.4 overs] (Ist Innings)

Lokesh Rahul 64runs [127]

Rahkeem Cornwall 5/118 [31.4 overs]

WICB President’s XI: 223 runs/6 overs [86 overs] (2nd Innings)

Jermaine Blackwood 51 runs [143 overs]

Ravichandran Ashwin 3/59 [20 overs]

Match Drawn

Both matches are played at Warner Park, Basseterre, Saint Kitts.

Test Matches

First test starts at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, in Antigua from 21st July, and Second test at Sabina Park, Jamaica from 30th July. The Third test match will be held at Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, St. Lucia from 9th August, and Fourth test will be hosted Queen’s Park Oval, Trinidad and Tobago from 18th August.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="422"] Virat Kohli leads Team India ([/caption]

According to WI Cricket Board’s [WICB] head of operations Roland Holder, “The four venues in West Indies are well-organized for the test matches against Indian team.”

BCCI informed on Wednesday that Indian team led by Virat Kohli is anticipated to leave for West Indies on 6th July along with new coaching staff.

Indian Team for West Indies Tour

As MS Dhoni retired from test career, the selectors have decided to select Wriddhiman Saha for wicket keeping. The opening will be done by Murali Vijay, and Shikhar Dhawan. KL Rahul will be considered a reserve opener. Indian team spinners are R Ashwin, Ravidra Jadeja, and Amit Mishra. The pacers of the team involve Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Shardul Thakur. The all-rounder of the squad will be Stuart Binny. Mohammad Shami has been asked to join the team for test series after a long time.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="510"] Team India Squad Confirmed to Play ([/caption]

Batsman Suresh Raina was not selected by the Indian cricket selectors for WI tour as he was unsuccessful in finding his place in the Test side against West Indies.

Team Squad for WI Tour

  •  Team India: Virat Kohli [Captain], Ajinkya Rahane [Vice-Captain], Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha [Wicketkeeper], Ravidra Jadeja, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur, Stuart Binny, and Amit Mishra.
  • Team West Indies:Jason Holder [Captain], Kraigg Brathwaite [Vice-Captain], Jermaine Blackwood, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich [Wicket-Keeper], Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson, Marlon Samuels.

 India VS West Indies: Test Match Series Schedule

1# India VS West Indies

1st Test Match

July 21st – 25th July, 2016

Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound, Antigua (Venue)

India Ist Innings 566/8 wicket dec; 161.5 overs

Virak Kohli: 200 runs [281]

Virat, the Indian captain scored his 1st double-century in Tests which was made away from home ground.

Kraigg Brathwaite 3/65 [14.5 overs]

West Indies Ist innings 243 [90.2 overs]

Kriagg Brathwaite 74 [281]

Umesh Yadav 4/44 [18 overs]

WI 2nd innings 231 [78 overs]

Carlos Brathwaite 51 [82]

Ravichandran Ashwin 7/83 [25 overs]

India won by an innings and 92 runs, their biggest win outside Asia, and biggest defeat for WI at home in Test.

2# India VS West Indies

2nd Test Match

July 30th – 3rd August, 2016

Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica (Venue)

West Indies 196 [52.3 overs]

Jermaine Blackwood 62 [62]

Ravichandran Ashwin 5/52 [16 overs]

India 500/9 wicket dec; 171.1 overs

K.L. Rahul 158 [303]

Roston Chase 5/121 [36.1 overs]

Rain has stopped play after India declared on 3rd Day, with play being abandoned for the day.

Match is drawn.

3# India VS West Indies

3rd Test Match

August 9th – 13th August, 2016

Darren Sammy National Cricket Stadium, Gros Islet, St. Lucia (Venue)

India Ist innings 353 runs [129.4 overs]

Ravichandran Ashwin 118 [297]

Miquel Cummins 3/54 [21-4 overs]

Second Innings 217/7d [48 overs]

Ajinkya Rahane 78* [116]

Miquel Cummins 6/48 [11 overs]

West Indies Ist innings 225 [103.4 overs]

Kraigg Brathwaite 64 [163]

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/33 [23.4 overs]

Second Innings 108 [47.3 overs]

Darren Bravo 50 [100]

Mohammed Shami 3/15 [11 overs]

No play on Day 3 because of rain.

India won the third test match by 237 runs.

4# India VS West Indies

4th Test Match

August 18th – 22nd August, 2016

Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago (Venue)

India Ist Innings 353 runs [129.4 overs]

Ravichandran Ashwin 118 runs [297]

Miquel Cummins 3/54 [21.4 overs]

Second Innings 217/7 d [48 overs]

Ajinkya Rahane 78 runs [116]

Miquel Cummins 6/48 [11 overs]

West Indies Ist Inning 225 [103.4 overs]

Kraigg Brathwaite 64 [163]

Bhuvneshwar Kumar 5/33 [23.4 overs]

Second Innings 108 [47.3 overs]

Darren Bravo 50 [100]

Mohammed Shami 3/15 [11 overs]

India won the 4th series against WI by 237 runs.


[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="419"] India to play against West Indies ([/caption]

Thus, watch out for live steaming of India Vs West Indies test series on Ten Sports channel! You can also watch the live and repeat telecasts on Best wishes to the Indian team to win against WI, and hope they return back home on 23rd August with their trophy!

Quick Update:

India wins by 2-0 against West Indies.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="492"]India wins the Test Series against West Indies ( India wins the Test Series against West Indies ([/caption] [caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="427"]Viral Kohli with Indian Trophy and Ashwin with his Trophy ( Viral Kohli with Indian Trophy and Ashwin with his Trophy ([/caption] [caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="384"]Indian team after winning the series against WI ( Indian team after winning the series against WI ([/caption]

Batsman Ravindrachadran Ashwin scored 235 runs with two centuries and has also claimed 17 wickets in order to help India record their biggest Test Series victory in Caribbean Islands with a perfect 2-0 win over West Indies. Congratulations to the whole team of India!, pub-3862145386704795, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0 InterServer Web Hosting and VPS

Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Author at
A proficient Web Content Developer (Technical and Non-Technical Writer), Blogger, and Freelance Content Writer. A happy author of! She is a creative person, always eager to learn new aspects, and seeking new ways for improving skills in her field. She loves traveling & photography; also, a sports enthusiast!
Follow me as @SanghamitraRch on Twitter.
Sanghamitra Roychoudhary