India V/s Zimbabwe ODI, T20I Series Begins from June 11

Just as the VIVO IPL Season 9 ended on 29th May, Indian team is all set to play limited overs mini series against Zimbabwe this month. Their Zimbabwe tour is confirmed to continue between June 11 and June 22. The series consists of 3 One Day Internationals [ODI] and 3 T20 Internationals (matches) that are planned to be played at Harare Sports Club in Harare. Indian team has already reached Zimbabwe for a short tour as the match will start from Saturday June 11.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="380"] India plays against Zimbabwe ([/caption]

This time India’s 16-member cricket squad will have M.S. Dhoni as captain. The ODIs will be held on June 11, 13, and 15, whereas the T20 Internationals will be played on June 18, 20, and 22. Some of the senior players including Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, and Ajinkya Rahane that represents a new Indian team look, have been rested for Zimbabwe tour.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="376"] MS Dhoni set to bat excellently in Zimbabwe Tour ([/caption]

The six matches against Zimbabwe will be executed over 12 days which begins with ODIs played from June 11 to June 15, and T20Is played from June 18 to June 22. Zimbabwe Cricket Managing Director Wilfred Mukondiwa conveyed on last Tuesday, “When all the formalities were finalized along with Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI], we are gratified to state the Zimbabwe tour schedule for June.” Last time in July 2015 India toured South Africa when Indian team won against them in ODI series 3-0, and T20 series was 1-1 tie match.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="400"] Zimbabwe to host India ([/caption]

India and Zimbabwe played total 11 Tests, 60 ODIs, and 4 T20I matches. India won 7 Tests, 48 ODIs, and 3 T20Is, whereas Zimbabwe won 2 Tests, 10 ODIs, and 1 T20I. Two ODIs were tie, and 2 tests drawn between India and Zimbabwe.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="327"] India Vs Zimbabwe from Saturday, June 11 ([/caption]

Zimbabwe Tour Schedule

ODI Matches: India Vs Zimbabwe

  • June 11 [Saturday]: 1st ODI – 12.30 PM IST [9 AM Local, 7 AM GMT]
  • June 13 [Monday]: 2nd ODI – 12.30 PM IST
  • June 15 [Wednesday]: 3rd ODI – 12.30 PM IST

T20 Matches: India Vs Zimbabwe

  • June 18 [Saturday]: 1st T20I – 4.30 PM IST [1 PM Local, 11 AM GMT]
  • June 20 [Monday]: 2nd T20I – 4.30 PM IST
  • June 22 [Wednesday]: 3rd T20I – 4.30 PM IST

Venue: Harare Sports Club

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="396"] India plays 3 ODIs and 3 T20I matches against Zimbabwe ([/caption]

Indian Team (ODIs and T20s)

Mahendra Singh Dhoni [captain and wicket keeper], Faiz Fazal, Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Karun Nair, Ambati Rayadu, Rishi Dhawan, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Barinder Sran, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.  

Zimbabwe Team (ODIs)

Graeme Cremer [captain], Chamu Chibhabha, Taurai Muzarabani, Peter Moor, Hamilton Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami [wicket keeper], Vusi Sibanda, Tendai Chatara, Donald Tiripano, Elton Chigumbura, Timycen Maruma, Craig Ervine, Wellington Masakadza, Tawanda Mupariwa, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Neville Madziva.

Zimbabwe Team (T20s)

Graeme Cremer [captain], Richmond Mutumbami [wicket keeper], Taurai Muzarabani, Peter Moor, Brian Chari, Elton Chigumbura, Vusi Sibanda, Luke Jongwe, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Wellington Masakadza, Tendai Chisoro, Tendai Chatara, Hamilton Masakadza, Malcolm Waller.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="371"] Winning excitement of Indian team ([/caption]

Interesting Encounters between India and Zimbabwe

Since 1983, India and Zimbabwe have fought against each other on 60 occasions. India won 49 matches, whereas Zimbabwe became the winner for 10 matches, but one match survived without result. Let’s check out the wins and losses by both teams.

1# Prudential World Cup: ODI, June 18, 1983 [60-over match]

India won against Zimbabwe by 31 runs.

2# Coca-Cola Champions Trophy: At Sharjah, 6th League Match, November 11, 1998 [50-over match]

Zimbabwe beat India by 13 runs

3# November Coca-Cola Champions Trophy ‘Final ODI’: At Sharjah, November 13, 1998 [50-over match]

India won by 10 wickets against Zimbabwe and lifted the Champions Trophy.

4# ICC World Cup: At England, May 19, 1999 [50-over match]

Zimbabwe beat India by 3 runs. Major setback for India in WC!

5# Zimbabwe Tour of India, 1st ODI: At Faridabad, March 7, 2002 [50-over match]

Zimbabwe won against India by 1 wicket with 2 balls to spare.

6# Zimbabwe Triangular Series: At Bulawayo, May 28, 2010 [50-over match]

Zimbabwe won against India by 6 wickets with 10 balls to spare.

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="437"] Interesting ODIs and T20Is to be watched from June 11 to June 28 ([/caption]

Well, this is India’s fourth tour to Zimbabwe in the last 6 years. Zimbabwe is hosting India for a spectacular three ODIs and three ODIs from June 11 to June 22 at Harare Sports Club!  All you cricket lovers, watch out for the six matches of India Vs ZimbabweODI and T20” matches on Star Sports, Ten 3 and Ten 1 HD (India) Sport channels, including DD channel. Best wishes to both the teams! 🙂

InterServer Web Hosting and VPS

Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Author at
A proficient Web Content Developer (Technical and Non-Technical Writer), Blogger, and Freelance Content Writer. A happy author of! She is a creative person, always eager to learn new aspects, and seeking new ways for improving skills in her field. She loves traveling & photography; also, a sports enthusiast!
Follow me as @SanghamitraRch on Twitter.
Sanghamitra Roychoudhary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.